“With healing in his wings.”

IMG_19800105_224143In Niger a few months ago I saw the Lord showing his glory and demonstrating the power of the gospel through healings of all kinds. After arriving home I prayed, “Lord, show your power to heal here at home too.” I’m standing in awe weeks later at how God is graciously giving his “yes” to that simple plea. I’m almost afraid to write about it because I don’t want to draw attention to anything or anyone less than our amazing Lord Jesus. Tears well up when I think of his grace toward those who call out in simple faith for his touch. I think what has been most amazing to me is the “smallness” of the miracles. Why would the creator of a billion galaxies hear a prayer to heal a teenager with a headache? Why would the ruler of kingdoms stoop from his majesty to ease the pain of a knee? I can understand God intervening for the “Big things” but why heal things we normally take medicine for? As I reflect though I can see all sorts of reasons, and I’ll bet you can too, so I’ll  leave that for your own reflection. I know from studying the New Testament that healings are not ends in themselves. When God heals out of his grace and compassion there is more going on than alleviating temporal afflictions. So my prayer is,”God what are you saying to us? What is the message behind the miracles?” Also I’m mindful of those prayers for healing that seem to go unanswered. I’ve been through that valley and felt its coldness many times. I have often found myself silent, unable to answer the “why God?” question. In those times I have been comforted by the truth that the eternal God cares in those times and is able to heal the broken heart that walks through the valley of the shadow of death. Even there I marvel that the eternal God walks with us finite beings through their sorrow. He sits with us through the long nights and reminds us that joy comes in the morning. I’m reminded that this is the same God who put on human flesh and literally died on a cross for my sins so that the ultimate healing could take place. Without that all other healings would be meaningless band-aids on our lost souls. But he has saved us from eternal death by dying in our place and rising from the grave. Now that my friends is healing! That is love!

I rejoice in the miracles I’ve been seeing. It blesses my heart when I think of the woman whose lungs suddenly cleared up. She looked at me with eyes wide open and said, “This is scary.” Then the girl who, as she moved her head around slowly discovering the stiff pain in her neck was gone, exclaimed, “Holy Moly!”. I don’t know how long the Lord will see fit to keep moving in this way. I don’t know when I may find myself descending into the valley again. But one thing I know is that whether you and I are celebrating or struggling this one thing is true, as the prophet Malachi put it, “For those who fear my name the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in his wings.” Wherever you are today He is here for you. As you fear him and seek his face you will find him ready to heal, save, restore and sustain you. If you need prayer leave a comment. I would love to join you before the throne of our great God and stand with you in your time of need. May God fill you with His life today.

2 thoughts on ““With healing in his wings.”

  1. I am so pleased to see that God is working like this and that you are seeing it , we are having the same thing happen here . We have had so many that asked for prayer and I realized almost all of the answers have been yes. One lady was in stage 4 breast cancer and it had spread to her brain , she is now cancer free. One family having problems with a child in a bad situation was prayed for and the grandfather said it was resolved almost immediately that day . A lady adopting twins and one was really sick and now they are thriving. I am seeing that God listens to the prayers of his people. I would like to ask for prayer for my grandchildren Ethan and Aaron . We go to court about their custody Wednesday morning . I pray that God’s will be done for their best interest , and I ask that you pray for Steve ,one of his legs has been swollen for months , the Dr says it is where he has had blood clots in his leg and probably will only get worse. Thank you in advance for your prayers.

Leave a Reply

